Operating a motor vehicle while you are intoxicated can be dangerous. This is because your reflexes and judgment will be compromised. You may end up hurting yourself and damaging your own vehicle if you are involved in a car accident. You may also injure pedestrians and other road users as a result of your drunk driving. In addition to that,the passengers in your vehicle may also get hurt if you get into a car accident.
When you are arrested on suspicion of operating a vehicle while intoxicated,you will be charged with OWI in Indiana. The penalties for this offense will depend on a number of factors,key among them being your blood alcohol concentrations (BAC),your age and the nature of the accident you caused. For more info,see DWI attorney .
OWI Penalties in Indiana
The legal drinking age in the state of Indiana is 21 years. If you are a licensed driver in Indiana,a BAC of 0.02% will land you in jail. This is because the state has a zero tolerance policy for underage drunk driving. First-time offenders are usually fined up to $500 for the Class C infraction/ticket.
You can be charged with OWI in Indiana if you have a BAC of 0.08% or higher. If you are found to have a BAC of 0.08-0.15%,you will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor,which carries a fine of up to $500,but you may also find yourself spending 60 days in jail. Your license may also be suspended for a couple of months.
You will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor if you are found to have a BAC of 0.15% or higher. You may also face a similar charge if your drinking and driving endangered the life of another person. If convicted,you can expect to pay a fine of up to $5,000 and spend up to one year in jail. The severity of penalties usually increases with the severity of the offense,so always consult with a drunk driving defense .